

National Day Information Sheet



The UAE's National Day is celebrated on **December 2nd** of each year and marks the unification of the emirates into a federation.

The UAE is a federation made up of 7 emirates: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ra's al-Khaimah, Ajman, Umm al-Quwain and Fujairah.

The UAE was founded under the visionary leadership of the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, known as the **father of the nation**.



The idea of the Union began at a meeting between Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan (Abu Dhabi) and Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum (Dubai), in the village of Samih in February, 1968 where they agreed that a union between them and other Gulf emirates was best for the future of the area.



Since the formation of the union, the seven Emirates have forged a distinct national identity.

The UAE's political system has been designed to ensure the country's heritage is maintained, adapted and preserved by combining tradition with a modern structure.